‘Brave New You’ Confidence Challenge

While scrolling my social media feeds the other week, I came across a challenge course, set up by Chloe Brotheridge, running this week, to help build confidence and self-esteem. I loved her book ‘The Anxiety Solution’ and her newer book ‘Brave New Girl’ is one I’m also definitely going to be buying now, so after clicking the link and having a look through the details, I bit the bullet, as anxious and ‘out of my comfort zone’ as I felt, and thought I would give the challenge a try, so signed up to take part.

Photo credit: Chloe Brotheridge

I decided to get involved with this particular course, as I have always suffered from incredibly low self-esteem and my confidence has really been knocked in recent years, due to the increase in severity (leading to the diagnosis) of my mental illness. I have also been experiencing a relapse over the past few months, where I have found myself slipping back into some of my bad old habits and ways of thinking, depending more on certain people for reassurance, isolating myself from and cancelling plans on others and playing that horrible social media comparison game.

On this course, for every day this week, you receive an email with a challenge that aims to help work on building your confidence, along with a workbook filled with questions to reflect on the exercise you have just completed.

I’m hoping that by the end of the week, I’ll start feeling a little less anxious, that bit more confident, and seeing a slightly brighter future for myself, where I can learn to be kinder on myself, stop doubting/second guessing myself, stop overanalysing/overthinking every little action I do or thing I say, and be more confident with solving problems myself and in the choices/decisions I make- a genuinely happy, more relaxed version of myself.

I am a little late in writing/posting this as I’ve just completed day 2, but stay tuned to see how I get on with each of the challenges this week!

Leave a comment